"Providing a complete portal to the world of case study research, the Fifth Edition of Robert K. Yin's bestselling text offers comprehensive coverage of the design and use of the case study method as a valid research tool. The book offers a clear definition of the case study method as well as discussion of design and analysis techniques. The Fifth Edition has been updated with nine new case studies, three new appendices, seven tutorials presented at the end of relevant chapters, increased coverage of values and ethics, expanded discussion on logic models, a brief glossary, and completely updated citations. This book includes exemplary case studies drawn from a wide variety of academic fields." -- From the publisher.
"The eagerly anticipated Fourth Edition of the title that pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design is here! For all three approaches, Creswell includes a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research approaches, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. He also presents the key elements of the research process, giving specific attention to each approach. The Fourth Edition includes extensively revised mixed methods coverage, increased coverage of ethical issues in research, and an expanded emphasis on worldview perspectives." -- Publishers description.
"With this book in hand, students of design will: -understand and apply the vocabulary and strategies of research methods -learn how to adapt themselves to unfamiliar situations -develop techniques for collaborating with non-designers -find and use facts from diverse sources in order to prove or disprove their ideas -make informed decisions in a systematic and insightful way -use research tools to find new and unexpected design solutions." - from the publisher.
Sarah Nettleton’s The Sociology of Health and Illness has become a cornerstone text, popular with students and academics alike for its rigorous and accessible overview of the field. Building on these strengths, the third edition integrates fresh insights from the current literature with the core tenets of traditional medical sociology, providing students with a thorough grounding in the sociology of health and illness.
"The ultimate real-world guide to how hospitals, long-term care communities and integrated health care systems around the world are operationalizing the fundamental dimensions of a patient-centered culture, including access to information, family involvement, healing environments, employee and physician engagement, patient advocacy and more." - From the publisher.
This volume provides the first comprehensive overview of the state of rural health and health care in Canada, from coast to coast and in northern communities. The contributors bring insights and methodologies from nursing, social work, geography, epidemiology, and sociology and from community-based research to a full spectrum of topics: health literacy, rural health care delivery and training, Aboriginal health, web-based services and their application, rural palliative care, and rural health research and policy.
""Experience Based Design" (EBD) is a new way of bringing about improvements in healthcare services by being user-focused. Facilities, healthcare professionals, carers, family and friends are all involved in the patient experience and systems and policies need to adapt to take this into consideration. By exploring the underlying concepts, methods and practices of EBD, this exciting guide offers a unique approach to healthcare customer satisfaction. It offers recommendations for the future and many interesting points for discussion.
The Business of Healthcare Innovation is a wide-ranging analysis of business trends in the manufacturing segment of the healthcare industry. It provides a thorough overview and introduction to the innovative sectors fueling improvements in healthcare: pharmaceuticals, biotechnology, platform technology, medical devices and information technology.
Part of Palgrave's Interagency Working in Health and Social Care series, this book explores the policy and practice which frames work with disabled people. Providing a critical review of the mainstream services available to disabled people, it assesses the successes and failures of interagency working andoffers a model for future practice.
Biomedical Collection Four is drawn from the Morgan & Claypool Synthesis series and includes access to ebook titles covering a range of biomedical engineering and design topics such as assistive technologies, human factors in computing systems, and body tracking in healthcare. Titles in this series are peer reviewed and intended to synthesize important research or development topics.
Full-text articles from biomedical and life sciences journal literature maintained by the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine. PMC contains more than 2.8 million articles. FAQs
Full-text articles from McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science, Yearbooks of Science & Technology, biographies of well-known scientists and definitions of scientific terms drawn from the Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. Content contributed by more than 5,000 researchers, including 36 Nobel Prize winners.
Healthcare is constantly evolving, with ever increasing complexity and costs presenting huge challenges for policy making, decision making, and system design. Design for Care presents a sweeping overview of the design issues facing healthcare and shows how designers can work with practice professionals, patients, caregivers, and other stakeholders to make a positive difference. Case studies, design methods, and leading-edge research illuminate emerging opportunities and provide inspiration for designing better services.
"Cynthia Leibrock and Debra Harris have developed a vitally important reference. They draw upon and compile a rich source of evidence that supports the application of specific research-based details for particular health-related settings."—From the foreword
(ebook) "'Design for Critical Care' presents a thorough and insightful guide to the very best practice in intensive care design, focusing on design that has been successful and benefi cial to both hospital staff and hospital patients. By making the connection between research evidence and design practice, Hamilton and Shepley present an holistic approach that outlines the future for successful design for critical care settings." - from the back cover