This is the "Home" page of the "OCAD U Zine Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

OCAD U Zine Library  

Last Updated: May 21, 2014 URL: http://ocad.libguides.com/zinelibrary Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About

OCADU Zine Library Logo

The OCAD U Zine Library is an ever-growing collection of self-published and handmade objects located in the Learning Zone at OCAD University. The collection was created to inspire, educate and entertain, to encourage collaboration between OCAD U students and to open up the world of zines for readers and creators everywhere!

Public Access:

Members of the public are welcome to visit the zine library any time the Learning Zone is open. Please refer to the Learning Zone hours before your visit. The Learning Zone is a secured space, requiring card swipe access. Members of the public may simply knock on the door and indicate to the staff that they would like to view the zine collection to gain access. 

 

Send us your zines!

The OCAD Zine Library has been built from generous donations from zinesters at OCAD University, in Toronto and worldwide. If you would like to share your zines or have a collection of your own that needs a home, the OCAD Zine Library will happily collect, preserve and share these publications for many years to come.

Please mail donations to: 
Dorothy H. Hoover Library, Zine Collection 
OCAD University 
100 McCaul Street 
Toronto, ON 
M5T 1W1

We are eternally grateful for all of our zine donors, big and small. Special thanks go out to Broken Pencil Magazine for their generous donations of review zines. 

 

Welcome to the OCAD U Zine Library!

zine library

OCAD U Zine Library on Facebook  Follow our facebook page for updates and events regarding our collection, as well as the Zine of the Day feature!

OCAD U Zine Collective Facebook Group A group for OCAD U students who want to communicate and collaborate on zines and gain zine making skills and exposure to zine culture. 

The OCAD Zine Library would like to thank Broken Pencil Magazine for their generous zine donations.

Other Zine Collections

  • Toronto Zine Library
    The Toronto Zine Library is run by a collective of zine readers, zine makers and librarians who are looking to make zines more accessible in Toronto. The Toronto Zine Library can be found on the second floor of the Tranzac Club, 292 Brunswick Avenue.
  • Arrow Archive
    Arrow Archive originally opened in The Steel City (Hamilton, Ontario) as The Hamilton Zine Library. HZL opened in fall 2007 at the Sky Dragon Center based on a small personal collection. The HZL made a reluctant but needed move in fall 2010. The Arrow Archive now lives and thrives in Guelph, Ontario. The Arrow has now grown to over 900 titles and is still growing.
  • Anchor Archive Zine Library
    Located in Halifax, the nchor Archive Zine Library has a collection over over 4000 zines that can be browsed and borrowed.
  • Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP)
    The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) is an online archive which works to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Marta Chudolinska
Contact Info
Learning Zone Librarian
416-977-6000 x2529
Send Email

Zine Links

  • Book of Zines
    This comprehensive and regularly updated site includes extensive references, information, interviews, articles and links about zines and e-zines.
  • Zine World
    A Guide to Underground Press, Zine World is a publication of zine reviews. The online component features zine resources, zine news, a list of zine libraries and more. Currently under maintenance, the full site can be viewed at the Wayback Machine: http://web.archive.org/web/20120413192624/http://www.undergroundpress.org/
  • Zines 101: A Quick Guide to Zines (PDF)
    A basic introductory zine resource, originally published in Zine World.
  • We Make Zines
    An online community/social network for zine makers and readers.
  • No Media Kings Book Press
    A comprehensive guide to self-publishing, covering offset printing, print on demand, hardcover and paperback binding.
  • Broken Pencil: The Magazine of Zine Culture and the Independent Arts
    Founded in 1995 and based in Toronto, Canada, Broken Pencil is a print magazine published four times a year. Broken Pencil reviews the best zines, books, websites, videos and music from the underground and reprints the best articles from the alternative press. Also features ground breaking interviews, original fiction, and commentary on all aspects of the independent arts.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip