How do children understand issues of work, marketing, money and scarcity? In Situating Child Consumption the contributors offer a provocative stance rethinking values and notions of children, childhood and consumption.
'On the button' is an inventive and unusual exploration of the cultural history of the button with all its metaphorical and lexical suggestiveness. It tells tales of a huge variety of the button's forms and functions, its sometimes uncompromising glamour, its strongholds in fashion and literature, its place in the visual arts, its association with crime and death, its tender call to nostalgia and the sentimental.
Most design books capture the results of good ideas, but very few capture the idea-generation process in way that can inspire fresh thinking and better work. This book represents a rare and remarkable look into the creative process of the top minds in advertising, and answers the question, "How are big ideas born"?
"This book is about blood, violence, and weapons, about sex and genitals, bowels, bodily fluids, and decay. And yes, it is about design -- because a rift is developing in the world of aesthetically designed and everyday objects. Lamps shaped like weapons, bloody dishware, a gasmask as showerhead, a dildo in the form of a crucifix, a coffee cup sporting breasts, jewelry made from real teeth.
Combines content from Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984), Art & Architecture Complete. Provides access to more than 630 international full-text journals and thousands of images, books and magazine articles.
The JSTOR archive includes the backfile content of more than 2,500 research journals in a variety of disciplines. OCAD U Library currently subscribes to fourteen JSTOR archival collections: Arts & Sciences I – XIII and Life Sciences (includes Biological and Health & General Science) collections. As part of JSTOR’s agreement with publishers current issues are not typically available on the platform (often the most recent 2 – 5 years) but may be accessible through other library databases.
Full text statistics, demographic information, reports, research on international markets. Search or browse by country, consumer, industry. NOTE: Due to budgetary constraints, OCAD U no longer licenses this resource