A unique examination of visual autobiography’s involvement in the global cultural politics of health, disability, and the body. [The] ... collection looks at images of selfhood and embodiment in a variety of media and with a particular focus on bodily identities and practices that challenge the norm.
Revised, expanded, and updated, this book examines visual literacy, looking at how meaning is both made and transmitted in a visual world. Designed as an introduction to the analysis of all kinds of visual text.
While video in museums has received considerable attention, experiments beyond the exhibition space have not. Here, leading scholars trace expanded and multiscreen cinema from its origins in early abstract film and the Bauhaus era to postwar happenings and live events in Europe and the United States, the first multimedia experiments of the 1960s, and the fusion of multiscreen art with sonic art and music from the 1970s onward.
Combines content from Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984), Art & Architecture Complete. Provides access to more than 630 international full-text journals and thousands of images, books and magazine articles.
The SAGE Journals platform provides full-text access to more than 700 current peer-reviewed journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. The Library has additionally acquired various journal backfile packages and as a result most journals are available from volume 1, issue 1 to present, otherwise journal coverage is from 1999 present.
Access to more than 1,000 leading social science & humanities journals and includes access to full-text issues from 1997 forward. Subject coverage includes a wide range of scholarly articles in a variety of subject areas such as business and management, disability studies, visual arts, library & information science, history, cultural and communication studies, and literature.
Project MUSE is a non-profit organization founded by Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library and supported by grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. MUSE provides full-text access to 600 scholarly journals published by more than 120 university presses and scholarly societies in the fields of visual arts, cultural studies, gender studies, economics and others.
Images of art and design from pre-history to contemporary art, in addition to content from science and social science disciplines. This resource now includes the instructional images from the OCAD U Image Library selected by faculty and librarians. Register for an account using your OCAD U email address to select and download images.
Nasher Museum of Art at Duke University: this site is an absolute must for any student researching visual literacy! Using conceptual "Frameworks," "Medium" or "Periods & Cultures" as a starting vantage point, the guide helps unpack how to ask questions and conduct research to respond.