Full text e-books, primary documents, time lines, essays.
Defining Gender is structured into five sections, Defining Gender, 1450-1910, Online addresses Conduct and Politeness (Section I), Domesticity and the Family (Section II), Consumption and Leisure (Section III), Education and Sensibility (Section IV) and The Body (Section V).
Access selected information from the censuses since 1996. Use "community profiles" to search for information by region. "Canadian Statistics" offers resources by broad subject headings, including Economy, Land, People, and State.
Published by Judy Rebick with content provided by "progressive journalists, writers, artists and activists" from across Canada, this site offers in-depth features, original news stories, interviews and commentaries from a definitively activist stance. Articles can be browsed only.
"Outlining Montreal's diverse ethnic and cultural origins and its strategic geographical location, this lively account delves into the social, economic, political and cultural forces and trends that have driven the city's development and made it what it is today." -- from the publisher.
The chapters in this volume, a groundbreaking work in the burgeoning field of hemispheric American studies, expand the horizons of Canadian and Quebecois literatures, suggest alternative approaches to models centred on the United States, and analyze the risks and benefits of hemispheric approaches to Canada and Quebec.
Library Catalogue Search
Library Catalogue Search Tips
For BEST results:
given that the library print collection specializes in art/design topics already, try "subject keyword" searches on broad humanities subjects; such as: anthropology; sociology; political science*
use * for variants of root word (ex. Canad* will search Canada, Canadian, Canada's, etc.
Full text access to more than 170,000 ebooks representing all academic subject areas. Includes the Academic Complete collection which contains titles from more than 200 leading university and academic presses. Help Guide
The JSTOR archive includes the backfile content of more than 2,500 research journals in a variety of disciplines. OCAD U Library currently subscribes to fourteen JSTOR archival collections: Arts & Sciences I – XIII and Life Sciences (includes Biological and Health & General Science) collections. As part of JSTOR’s agreement with publishers current issues are not typically available on the platform (often the most recent 2 – 5 years) but may be accessible through other library databases.
Project MUSE is a non-profit organization founded by Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library and supported by grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. MUSE provides full-text access to 600 scholarly journals published by more than 120 university presses and scholarly societies in the fields of visual arts, cultural studies, gender studies, economics and others.
Access to more than 1,000 leading social science & humanities journals and includes access to full-text issues from 1997 forward. Subject coverage includes a wide range of scholarly articles in a variety of subject areas such as business and management, disability studies, visual arts, library & information science, history, cultural and communication studies, and literature.