"In a densely woven narrative, Cixous's latest text focuses on the extraordinary voyage that is literary creation, and in doing so also explores the themes of memory, loss and subjectivity." -- from the publisher.
Revised and updated edition. Traces the the history of fantasy as a literary genre from its precursors in myth and early literature to its flourishing as a genre in the twentieth century and its bestselling status in the twenty-first century with authors such as Rowling and Pratchett.
n the summer of 1858, in a garden behind Christ Church in Oxford, Charles Dodgson--better known by his pseudonym Lewis Carroll--dressed the six-year-old Alice Liddell in ragamuffin's clothes, and then snapped the camera's shutter. In The Alice Behind Wonderland, Simon Winchester uses the famous photograph of Alice as the launching pad for an appreciative energetic and penetrating look at the inspiration behind, and the making of, one of the greatest classics of children's literature.
Library Catalogue Search
Library Catalogue Search Tips
For best results
try using "subject keyword" search on broad genres (ex. fiction, literature, graphic novels)
remember that our language and literature collection in print is SMALL! so...always use ebrary ebooks for information on literary theory..
use fewer search terms
broaden subject terms (ex. use "United Kingdom" instead of "England")
Artemis provides access to a broad range of full-text literary research resources drawn from Literature Resource Center and other Gale databases. This resource offers extensive coverage of authors and their works, including topic overviews, biographies, and criticism sourced from thousands of journals, magazines and reference works.
The JSTOR archive includes the backfile content of more than 2,500 research journals in a variety of disciplines. OCAD U Library currently subscribes to fourteen JSTOR archival collections: Arts & Sciences I – XIII and Life Sciences (includes Biological and Health & General Science) collections. As part of JSTOR’s agreement with publishers current issues are not typically available on the platform (often the most recent 2 – 5 years) but may be accessible through other library databases.