Library Catalogue Search
Comments (0)
Library Catalogue Search Tips
For best results
- limit by subject (illustration, industrial design, etc.)
- search for designer (Charles & Ray Eames) or design object (chair, telephone, etc.)
- sort by publication date for most recent titles
No Results?
- use fewer search terms
- broaden subject terms
Research Guides
- Scholarly ArticlesWhat are peer-review or scholarly articles? How can I find them? How can I tell the difference betweeen scholarly and non-scholarly sources?
- Guide to DatabasesWhat is a database? How do I use one to find the research I need? What is the difference between all these databases?
- Guide to CitationsWhat are citations? How do I properly create them? Why should I use citations?
- CopyrightWhat are the copyright restrictions on OCAD U Library materials?
Contact
For research help contact the Reference Desk at: 416 977-6000 X334
OR
email Robert Fabbro at rfabbro@ocadu.ca
Article Databases
- Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
Citations (not the full text) and abstracts (brief descriptions) of articles from over 450 design and craft journals, magazines and annuals from 1973 to the present. Covers all aspects of industrial, graphic, material arts, architectural and interior design. - Art Full Text
Citations (1984 -); abstract (1994 -); full text (1997 -) from periodical articles from a range of international publications. Subjects: All aspects of art & design history, theory, & practice from all time periods and cultures - DesignInform
Includes access to:
Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR) - a retrospective journal abstracting and indexing service
Design ProFILES (DP) - bibliographical dictionary of modern designers, craftspeople, artists and architects
ReVIEW - full text nineteenth and early twentieth century art journals
Library Books
Cold War Modern: Design 1945-1970 - David Crowely and Jane Pavitt
Call Number: N72.5 P6 C64
ISBN: 9781851775439 (hc.)
While political tension defined one front of the Cold War, a creative conflict was waged on another. The first book to offer an international perspective on the Cold War across the arts, this groundbreaking study examines how art and design played a central role in representing and sometimes challenging the dominant political and social ideas of the age.
Color in three-dimensional design - Jeanne Kopacz
Call Number: NK1548 K6
ISBN: 0071411704 (alk. paper)
A single-source reference that provides design professionals with the in-depth information they require to translate color theory into three-dimensional design. The author utilizes a hands-on approach to developing the skills, tools, and techniques professionals need to translate color theory to real-world, 3D projects.
Design Studies: a reader - Hazel Clark and David Brody
Call Number: NK1510 D37
ISBN: 9781847882370 (hc.)
This book is the ideal entry point for any student who wants to understand the many complex roles of design--as process, product, function, symbol, and use. Reflecting the diverse range of perspectives on design, the reader brings together over 70 key texts. The essays are presented in themed sections covering history, methods, theory, visuality, identity, consumption, labor, industrialization, new technology, sustainability, and globalization.
Web Links
- Inclusive Design Toolkit
This toolkit has been developed to explain what inclusive design is, why it is worthwhile and how to do it.
Encyclopedias
- Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
contains over 3,000 entries covering thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures. - Berg Fashion Library
the Berg Fashion Library provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history.
Ebooks
The Place of Design: Exploring Ontario's Design Community - Tara Vinodrai
This report provides a comprehensive review of international best practices in the development and promotion of the design economy, as well as providing an overview and analysis of Ontario's design workforce.


Loading...
