Skip to main content

Artists as Writers: Artists Write About Art: Drawing/Painting

Genre: Artists Writing about Art: Drawing/Painting

This section contains writing by artists who draw and paint, discussing their ideas about art and the work of other artists.

Artists on this page:

Paul-Émile Borduas: Writing about art

"Manières de goûter une oeuvre d’art." Amérique française 2.4 (Jan 1943): 31-44.
Also included in Écrits I (Les Presses de l’Université de Montréal, 1987, p. 208-40).

Refus global. by Paul-Émile Borduas, Claude Gavreau, Bruno Cormier 1948.
Read "Refus Global" online or in English translation by Dan Taylor. The principle articles and manifesto by Borduas advocating the separation of Church and State in Quebec, especially for the arts. Also included in Écrits I (Les Presses de l’Université de Montréal, 1987, p. 327-363

"Lettres à Claude Gauvreau." Liberté 4.22 (Apr 1962): 230-51.
Letters Borduas wrote to Gauvreau between 1952-59 about exhibitions, artists, and art theory (in French)

"Borduas parle." Liberté 4.19-20 (Jan-Feb 1962): 5-16.
Borduas writes (in French) regarding his teaching methods, relationships between student and teachers, how to judge a piece of art, on abstract art, about New York

"Les Automatistes." Barre du jour 17-20 (Jan-Aug 1969): 1-389.
 Includes Projections libérantes by Borduas & 2 letters from Borduas to Jean-Jules Richard (n.d.) and to Claude Gauvreau (1954)

"Communication intime à mes chers amis." La Presse, 12 Juiy 1969, p. 24.
Also included in Écrits I (Les Presses de l’Université de Montréal, 1987, p. 503-515.

"Fusain." Amérique française, 2e année 2.3 (Nov 1942): 32.
 Discusses work of Jacques De Tonnancour. Included in Écrits I (Les Presses de l’Université de Montréal, 1987, p. 165-66).

"Quelques pensées sur l'oeuvre d'amour et de rêve de M. Ozias Leduc." Canadian Art 10.4 (Summer 1953): 158-161.  English translation avaible through OCADU Library.
Borduas writes (in French) about his friend of 30 years, Ozias Leduc, regarding how they met, Leduc's influence on himself, points of view on artistic & social questions

"Hommage à Ozias Leduc." Arts et pensée 18 (July-Aug 1954): 162-192.
A series of articles about Ozias Leduc. Includes testimony by Borduas (amongst others) in "cinq témoignages" about Ozias Leduc

Emily Carr: Writing about art

"Modern and Indian Art of the West Coast." Supplement to the McGill News, June 1929: 18-22.

"Picture Gallery." Victoria Daily Times, 13 Dec. 1932

An Address by Emily Carr. Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1955.

Fresh Seeing: Two Addresses by Emily Carr. Toronto: Clarke, Irwin & Co., 1972. Available at OCADU Library.
This book includes transcripts from addresses given by Carr: "Fresh Seeing" from 1930 about modern art's major features & problems and "The Something Plus in a Work of Art" from 1935 about criteria used in judging artist's works.

Paraskeva Clark: Writing about art

"Come Out From Behind the Pre-Cambrian Shield." New Frontier 1.12 (Apr 1937): 16-17.
This article discusses the political role of the artist

"Canadian Artists: Thoughts on Canadian Painting." World Affairs 8.6 (Feb 1943): 17-18.

"The Artist Speaks: A Statement by Paraskeva Clark." Canadian Review of Music and Art 3.9/10 (1944): 18-19.

"Travelling Exhibitions: Is the Public's Gain the Artist's Loss?" Canadian Art 7.1 (Autumn 1949): 21-23.  Available at OCADU Library.

"Paraskeva Clark." Douglas Duncan, A Memorial Portrait. Ed. Alan Jarvis. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1974. 60-61.
Clark writes about her memories of Douglas Duncan, art collector, book collector, bookbinder, and founder of Picture Loan Society, which exhibited, sold & loaned works by contemporary Canadian artists (Clark had Picture Loan exhibitions Paraskeva Clark Feb-Mar 1937; Canadian Aid to Russia, Exhibition and Sale of Paintings by Paraskeva Clark Dec 5-19, 1942; Parakseva Clark Feb 1947)

Lecture notes and other archival materials in Library & Archives Canada Paraskeva and Philip T. Clark fonds. View description online.

Nicole Collins: Writing about art

Doris McCarthy: everything which is yes  McCarthy, Doris; Klunder, Harold; Urban, David; MacDonald, Ann; Collins, Nicole  2004. Available at OCADU Library.

Michael Davidson: True Believer. Catalogue Essay for: 26: Michael Davidson. Read online courtesy of Nicole Collins.

Breaking Black Exhibition, McMaster Museum of Art. Curatorial essay. 2012/2013. Read online courtesy of Nicole Collins.

Lawren Harris: Writing about art

Articles in Canadian Art

  • LeMoine FitzGerald - Western Artist
  • An Essay on Abstract Painting
  • What the Public Wants
  • The Group of Seven in Canadian History
  • Community Art Centres - A Growing Movement
  • Reconstruction Through the Arts
  • The Federal Arts Commission
  • George Douglas Pepper
  • A Debate on Public Gallery Policy

"Hemmings Black and White," The Lamps (Toronto), vol. I, no. 1 (October 1911), p. II.

"Revelation of Art in Canada," The Canadian Theosophist, vol. VII, no. 5 (15 July 1926), pp. 85-86.

"Creative Art and Canada," The McGill News (Supplement), vol. 10, no. I (December 1928), p. 9.

"Winning a Canadian Background," Canadian Bookman, vol. v, no. 2 -(February 1923), p. 37.

"The Federation of Canadian Artists," Canadian Review of Music and Art, vol. III, nos 5-6 (June-July 1944), p. 31.

"The Paintings and Drawings of Emily Carr," Emily Carr: Her Paintings and Sketches (Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1945), p. 20.

"Revelation of Art in Canada" (1926), pp.85-86.

"Modem Art and Aesthetic Reactions," Canadian Forum, vol. VII, no. 80 (May 1927), pp. 240-241.

"The Nudes at the C. N. E.," Canadian Forum, vol. VIII, no. 85 (October 1927), p. 391.

The Story of the Group of Seven. Rous & Mann,1964.  Available at OCADU Library.

The Best of the Group of Seven.  Lawren Harris and Joan Murray.  Hurtig Publishers, 1984. Available at OCADU Library.

A.Y. Jackson: Writing about art

Writing about art

"Who Committed the Spring Exhibition."  Montreal Daily Herald, 27 May 1912.
A letter to the Editor

"'Figure Versus Landscape." Written under the pseudonym Smoke Lake. The Rebel magazine 3.3 (Jan 1919): 111-112. Read online from Internet Archive.

"'Art and Craft." Written under the pseudonym Ajax. The Rebel magazine (Feb 1919). 

"Canadian and Foreign Art."  signed as Canadian Artist. Toronto Globe, 31 May 1919. Page 6.
A letter to the editor

"The Vital Necessity of the Fine Arts." Canadian Courier 24 (30 Aug 1919): 7.

"'An Aesthetic Standard." Written under the pseudonym Ajax. The Rebel magazine 4.1 (Oct 1919): 43.  Read online from Internet Archive.

"'Dutch Art in Canada: The Last Chapter." Written under the pseudonym Ajax. The Rebel magazine 4.2 (Nov 1919): 65-6. 

"'The War Memorials: A Challenge." The Lamps (Arts & Letters Club of Toronto) (Dec 1919): 75-8.

"'Things Are Looking Up."  Written under the pseudonym Ajax. The Rebel magazine 4.5 (Feb 1920): 196.

"The Allward Memorial."  Canadian Forum 2.18 (Mar 1922): 559. View text online from Internet Archive.

"A Policy for Art Galleries."  Canadian Forum 2 (June 1922): 660-2. View text online from Internet Archive.

"The Septuagenarian and Art." Montreal Gazette, 8 Dec. 1922.
A letter to editor.

Is the National Gallery a National Reproach?" Written with R.F. Gagen and P.H. Robson. Toronto Mail and Empire, 19 Dec. 1922
A letter to the editor.

"An Artist's Reply to Critic." Ottawa Citizen, 21 Dec. 1922.
A letter to the editor

"The Problem of the Canadian Painter." signed as M.E. Canadian Bookman 5.2 (Feb 1923): 33.

"Canadian Art at Wembley." Signed as Rose Madder. Toronto Daily Star, 23 May 1924.
A letter to the Editor

"Artists in the Mountains." Canadian Forum 5.52 (Jan 1925): 112-113.

"In the Realm of Art."  Canadian Bookman 7.6 (June 1925): 101.

"Early Quebec Wood Carving Now in Toronto."  Canadian Bookman 7.2 (Nov 1925): 186.

"Two Views on Canadian Art." with Wyly Grier. The Empire Club of Canada: Addresses Delivered to the Members During the  Year 1925. Toronto: The Macoomb Press, 1926: 105-13. Read full text of debate online from Empire Club of Canada website.

"Montreal Pictures in Toronto." Montreal Gazette, 22 Feb. 1926, p. 12.
A letter to the editor

"Art in Toronto."  Canadian Forum 6.66 (Mar 1926): 180, 182.

"Those Pictures: More Opinions." Ottawa Journal, 20 Mar 1926.
A letter to the editor

"Blazing Trails in Art." Ottawa Citizen, 17 Mar 1926.

"War Pictures Again." Canadian Bookman 8.11 (Nov 1926): 340.

"Canadian Art Has Received Well-Earned Commendation: Are 'Old Material.'" Toronto Daily Star, 29 Nov. 1926.
A letter to the editor

"As to Certain Myths." Ottawa Morning Journal, 10 Feb. 1927.
A letter to the editor

"Canadian Artist Honored." Signed as Maple Leaf. Toronto Daily Star, 5 May 1927.
A letter to the editor

"Winter Sketching." Supplement to the McGill News 8.3 (June 1927): 29-30.

"Artist-Explorer." Canadian Bookman 9.6 (July 1927): 216.

"Mr. Jackson Objects."  Toronto Star, [?] Sep 1927.
A letter to the editor

"'Group of Seven' Painter Answers Sir John Collier." Toronto Daily Star, 15 Sept. 1927.

"Mr. Russell and Other Artists." Toronto Mail and Empire, 8 Nov. 1927.
A letter to the editor

"Rescuing Our Tottering Totems: Something About a Primitive Art, Revealing the Past History of a Vanishing Race." Maclean's Magazine (15 Dec 1927): 23, 37.

"Up North." Canadian Forum 8.87 (Dec 1927): 478-480.

"The Emigrant's Stone." Canadian Forum 9.100 (Jan 1929): 143.
A letter to the editor

"The Royal Canadian Academy." Canadian Mercury, Feb 1929, p. 54.

"Fifty Immortal Painters." Toronto Mail and Empire, 15 July 1930.
A letter to the editor

"Art Criticism." Toronto Mail and Empire, [?] Jan 1931.
A letter to the editor

"Paintings by Prudence Heward Placed on Exhibition in Montreal." Montreal Daily Star, 27 Apr 1932.

"Wild Art in Mild West." Toronto Mail and Empire, 14 July 1932.
A letter to editor

"What's Wrong with the Academic Painter?" Toronto Mail and Empire, 16 Dec. 1932.
 letter to editor

"Modern Art No Menace." Saturday Night 48.6 (17 Dec 1932): 3.

"More Art Experts." Toronto Mail and Empire, 2 Jan. 1933.
A letter to editor

"Why Always the Group of Seven?" Toronto Mail and Empire, 6 Feb. 1933.
A letter to editor

"What are Finns?" Signed as A.Y. Toronto News,13 Sep 1941.
A letter to the editor

"Canada at War." Maritime Art 2.3 (Feb-Mar 1942): 75-6.

"Art and War." Toronto News, 3 Oct 1942.

"War Pictures." Toronto News, 10 Oct 1942.

"Watercolours." Toronto News, 23 Jan 1943.

"Pictures for Soldiers." Toronto News, 3 Apr 1943. 

"Marginal Art." Toronto News, 10 Apr 1943.

"Artist's Hint to Politicians." Toronto News, 24 July 1943.

"Plea for Hidden Talent." Toronto News, 09 Oct 1943.

"Dr. MacCallum: Loyal Friend of Art." Saturday Night 59.14 (11 Dec 1943): 19.

How to Get Started Sketching with Oil Paints for Pleasure. [Toronto]: Canadian Y:Y.M.C.A. War Services in co-operation with Canadian Legion Educational Services, [194-?].
A "Recreational-educational How-to-get-started Booklets for members of the Canadian Armed Forces."

"Soldiers Art on Exhibition." Toronto News, 1 Apr 1944.

"Century of Art." Toronto News, 10 June 1944.

"Oils on the Water."
Toronto News, 21 Oct 1944.

"Art, the Waif." Toronto News, 21 Dec 1944.

"Portrait of an Artist." Toronto News, 27 Jan 1945.

"Pictures & Pictures." Toronto News, 24 Feb 1945.

"Art Goes to the Armed Forces." The Studio 129.625 (April 1945): 120.

"On Buying Pictures." Toronto News, 5 July 1945.

"Art for All." Toronto News, 21 July 1945.

"School in the Rockies." Toronto News, 29 Sep 1945.

"Banff School of Fine Arts." Canadian Art 3.4 (July 1946). Read article online at CCCA.

"A Record of Total War." Canadian Art 3.4 (July 1946): 150-5.  Read article online at CCCA.

"A War Memorial Gallery." Ottawa Citizen, 23 July 1946.

"Foreword" by Jackson in Canadian Group of Painters, 1947-1948: [Catalogue of an Exhibition Organized by the Art Gallery of Toronto and the Art Association, Montreal]. Toronto: Canadian Group of Painters; Art Association of Montreal; Art Gallery of Toronto, 1947.

"Developments in Canadian Art - I." Canada's Weekly, 132.3430 (31 Dec 1948): 381-2, 392.

"Developments in Canadian Art - II." Canada's Weekly, 132.3431 (7 Jan 1949): 413-414.

"The Development of Canadian Art." Royal Society of Arts Journal 97.4786 (Jan 1949): 129-43.

"The Origin of the Group of Seven." High Flight. Ed. J. R. McIntosh, F. L. Barrett, C. E. Lewis. Toronto: Copp Clark, 1951, 106-62.

"Introduction." Paintings and Drawings from the Collection of J.S. McLean. Ottawa: The National Gallery of Canada, 1952.

"The Birth of the Group of Seven." Our Sense of Identity: A Book of Canadian Essays. Ed. Malcolm Ross. Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1954, 220-230.

"Canadian Art -- Whither?" Sun Life Review, 8.3 (July 1956): 5-8, 19.

"Foreword." The Georgian Bay by Percy J. Robinson. Toronto: Privately printed, 1966, pp. 3.

 

Writing about artists

"J.E.H. MacDonald." Canadian Forum 13.148 (Jan 1933): 136-8.

Banting as an Artist. Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1943.

"Emily Carr, 1871-1945." Toronto News, 20 Mar 1945.

"Sarah Robertson, 1891-1948." Canadian Art 6.3 (Spring 1949): 125-6.

"Arthur Lismer: His Contribution to Canadian Art." Canadian Art 7.3 (Spring 1950): 89-90.

"William J. Woods, 1877-1954." Canadian Art 11.3 (Spring 1954): 115.

"Arthur Lismer." Educational Record of the Province of Quebec 71 no.1 (Jan-Mar1955): 11-7.

"Foreword" by Jackson in Frederick Simpson Coburn, R.C.A.  By Gerald Stevens. Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1958, pp. v-vii.

"R.S. Hewton, R.C.A." An introduction by Jackson. Exhibition Randolph S. Hewton, R.C.A. 1888-1960. Montreal: Walter Klinkhoff Gallery, 1961.

"Memories of a Fellow Artist, Frederick Grant Banting." The Canadian Medical Association Journal 92 (15 May 1965): 1077-1083. Read online via National Library of Medicine.

"Preface" by Jackson in James Wilson Morrice. By Kathleen Daly Pepper. Toronto ; Vancouver: Clarke, Irwin, 1966.

"Foreword" by Jackson in Tom Thomson: The Story of a Man Who Looked for Beauty and for Truth in the Wilderness. By Blodwen Davies. Vancouver: Mitchell Press, 1967, pp. 1-6.

 

Catalogue essays

"Foreword" by Jackson. Catalogue of an Exhibition of Paintings by the Late Tom Thomson, March 1 to March 21, 1919. Montreal: The Arts Club, 1919.

"Foreword" by Jackson. Canadian Group of Painters, 1947-1948: [Catalogue of an Exhibition Organized by the Art Gallery of Toronto and the Art Association, Montreal]. Toronto: Canadian Group of Painters; Art Association of Montreal; Art Gallery of Toronto, 1947.

"Lawren Harris: A Biographical Sketch." A catalogue essay by Jackson in Lawren Harris: Paintings 1910-1948. Toronto: Art Gallery of Toronto, 1948, pp. 6-12.

"Prudence Heward (Introduction)."  Exhibition catalogue introduction in Prudence Heward, 1896-1947: Memorial Exhibition. Ottawa: The National Gallery of Canada, 1948, pp. 7-10.

"Introduction." Exhibition catalogue introduction in Sarah Robertson, 1891-1948: Memorial Exhibition. Ottawa: the National Gallery of Canada, 1951.

"Introduction." Paintings and Drawings from the Collection of J.S. McLean. Ottawa: The National Gallery of Canada, 1952.

"The War Records." F.H. Varley: Paintings, 1915-1954. Toronto: Art Gallery of Toronto, 1954, pp.5-6.
A catalogue essay regarding Frederick Horsman Varley

Maurice Cullen, 1866-1934: Contains brief critical comments by Jackson in exhibition catalogue. Hamilton, ON: Art Gallery of Hamilton, 1956.

"R.S. Hewton, R.C.A." An introduction by Jackson. Exhibition Randolph S. Hewton, R.C.A. 1888-1960. Montreal: Walter Klinkhoff Gallery, 1961.