Skip to main content

Artists as Writers: Genre: Travel Writing

Genre: Travel Writing

This section contains travel writing by artists, which is writing they produced to document and share their experiences of traveling to new places.

Artists on this page:

Emily Carr: Travel writing

Klee Wyck. Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1941.
This wwas Carr's first book after visiting, living and painting First Nations communities & totem poles. It won the Governor General's award for non-fiction. Available at OCADU Library.

The Heart of a Peacock. Ira Dilworth, ed. Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1953.
Miscellany of the author's unpublished writings, containing stories of West Coast First Nations life, birds and animals from Carr's childhood experiences. Available at OCADU Library.

"Kitwancool." Native Peoples in Canadian Literature. William and Christine Mowat, eds. Toronto: Macmillan of Canada, 1975.

Sunlight in the Shadows: The Landscape of Emily Carr. Photography by Michael Breuer; text by Kerry Mason Dodd. Toronto: Oxford University Press, 1984.
This text includes excerpts from Carr's unpublished correspondence, manuscripts and journals. Available at OCADU Library.

Seven Journeys: The Sketchbooks of Emily Carr. Doris Shadbolt. Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre ; Seattle: University of Washington Press, 2002.
This book details Carr's journeys between 1927-1930, with drawings and quotes from previously unpublished writings & letters by Carr.

Sister and I from Victoria to London. Victoria: Royal BC Museum, 2011.
Carr documents a trip to London, England with her sister, Alice, in 1910. Written and illustrated by Carr, from her notebook

Sister and I in Alaska: an illustrated diary of a trip to Alert Bay, Skagway, Juneau, and Sitka in 1907. Figure 1 Publishing, 2014.
The forty-seven full-page watercolours, fresh and bright, are accompanied by Carr's saucy comments about people, animals, ships, and hotels. Available at OCADU Library.

A.Y. Jackson: Travel Writing

"Artists in the Mountains." Canadian Forum 5.52 (Jan 1925): 112-113.

"There is Still Snow in Quebec." with pen drawing Early Spring - Laurentians. The Tangent: An Annual 1929. Toronto: Ontario College of Art Students' Club, 1929. Read online via Internet Archive.

"Adventure in Art." Canadian Forum 8.86 (Nov 1927): 424.
About a trip to the Arctic

"Sketching on the Alaska Highway." Canadian Art 1.3 (Feb-Mar 1944): 88-92.
Jackson describes the landscape and military people he meets, and the routine he develops for making sketches while traveling on tours of the Alaska Military Highway through U.S. Public Relations

The Arctic 1927. A.Y. Jackson with introductions by Naomi Jackson Groves & Dr. Frederick Banting. Moonbeam, ON: Penumbra Press, 1982.
Diaries and sketchbook of A. Y. Jackson who describes a voyage he made to the Canadian arctic. The book is made up of two diaries Jackson kept, one of notes for himself, and a second, more like descriptive travel letters, for friends in Toronto

Two Jacksons Abroad, 1936. By Naomi Jackson Groves and A.Y. Jackson. Manotick, ON: Penumbra Press, 2000.
Mostly Dr. Naomi Jackson Groves' diaries, but includes brief letters and diary of A. Y. Jackson as well

Paul Kane: Travel writing and journals

The Wanderings of an Artist among the Indians of North America from Canada to Vancouver's Island and Oregon through the Hudson's Bay Company's Territory and Back Again. London, England: Longman, Brown, Green, Longmans & Roberts, 1859. Read scanned version online from Internet Archive. Available at OCADU Library.
This book is illustrated with lithographs of Kane's own sketches & paintings.

Paul Kane's Frontier, Including Wanderings of an Artist Among the Indians of North America. Ed. J. Russell Harper. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1971. Available at OCADU Library.
A catalogue raisonné with biographical introduction edited by J. Russell Harper with reprint of Kane's Wanderings of an Artist, 1859. It includes appendix of excerpts from Kane's logbooks, letters & notes for painting.

Paul Kane, the Columbia Wanderer, 1846-7; Sketches and Paintings of the Indians and His Lecture, "The Chinooks." ed. with introd. by Thomas Vaughan. Portland: Oregon Historical Society, 1971.
It is unclear if the text of Kane's lecture "The Chinooks" is same as his article in the Daily Colonist "The Chinook Indians" from 1855

"Journal of Paul Kane's Western Travels, 1846-1848." Transcribed by I. S. MacLaren. American Art Journal 21.2 (1989): 23-62. Available at OCADU Library.

Wiliam Kurelek: Travel Writing

O Toronto: Paintings and Notes. Toronto: New Press, 1973. Available at OCADU Library.
Kurelek's paintings of Toronto accompanied by notes.

Kurelek's Canada. Toronto: Pagurian Press; Scarborough, Ont.: distributed by McGraw-Hill Ryerson, 1975. Available at OCADU Library.

The Last of the Arctic. Toronto: McGraw-Hill Ryerson, 1976.  Available at OCADU Library.
Kurelek's paintings of Inuit people and his personal notes.

Kurelek's Vision of Canada. by William Kurelek & Joan Murray. Edmonton: Hurtig, 1983. Available at OCADU Library.
Includes Kurelek's "Reminiscences" and commentary about his artwork.

To My Father's Village: The Last Days and Drawings of William Kurelek. Montreal: Tundra Books, 1988. Available at OCADU Library.
Includes correspondence, drawings, writing & reflections by Kurelek.