Skip to main content

Artists as Writers: Jackson, A.Y.

Artist Biography


(Portrait of A.Y. Jackson from the McMichael Gallery.)

JACKSON, A.Y. (Alexander Young) (1882 - 1974)

Areas of Expertise

Painting, Landscapes, War art, Canadian art

Biography

Alexander Young Jackson, CC, painter (born 3 October 1882 in Montréal, QC; died 5 April 1974 in Kleinburg, ON). A Companion of the Order of Canada and recipient of a medal for lifetime achievement from the Royal Canadian Academy, A.Y. Jackson was a leading member of the Group of Seven and helped to remake the visual image of Canada.

(Biography from The Canadian Encyclopedia)

Online Resources

A.Y. Jackson on the Canadian Encyclopedia.

Canadian Landscape, a documentary from the NFB of Canada. Dir. by Radford Crawley, 1941, 17 min 28 s, this documentary follows painter A.Y. Jackson on his canoe trips and on foot to the northern wilderness of Canada in autumn where this leading member of the Group of Seven discusses his approach to his subject matter and shows some of his paintings.

A.Y. Jackson: Still Painting at 73. CBC Newsmagazine July 10, 1955. A video from the CBC Digital Archives.

Listen to part of A. Y. Jackson's speech ("A.Y. Jackson paints the First World War") at the Royal York Hotel, Toronto, April 20, 1965 as he recalls his assignments as a war painter .

Writing by A.Y. Jackson

Please note that not all works are available through the OCADU library. To acquire one of these works through Interlibrary Loan or other means, please contact the library for assistance.

  • Autobiography
  • Writing about his own art
  • Writing about art
  • Writing about war
  • Travel writing
  • Letters
  • Poetry

A.Y. Jackson: Autobiography

"Recollections on my Seventieth Birthday." Canadian Art 10 (1953): 94-9.

"Reminiscences of Army Life, 1914-1918." Canadian Art 11.1 (Autumn 1953): 6-10.

"A. Y. Jackson: Office Boy to Top Canadian Artist." Ottawa Journal, 5 Sep 1953.

"A War Artist Looks Back." Ottawa Citizen, 31 Oct 1953.

"From Rebel Dauber to Renowned Painter: A Self-Portrait of A.Y. Jackson." by A.Y. Jackson and Leslie F. Hannon. Mayfair 28.9 (Sep 1954): 27-9, 58, 61-4, 67.

A Painter’s Country: The Autobiography of A.Y. Jackson. Toronto: Clarke, Irwin & Co., 1958.

A.Y. Jackson's speech at Royal York Hotel, Toronto, April 20, 1965.
Hear part of Jackson's speech as he recalls his assignments as a war painter (CBC Digital Archives)

A.Y. Jackson: Writing about his own art

"Sketching in Algoma." Canadian Forum 1.6 (Mar 1921): 174-5. Read online from Internet Archive.

"Adventure in Art." Canadian Forum 8.86 (Nov 1927): 424.
About a trip to the Arctic.

The Far North: A Book of Drawings by A.Y. Jackson. Toronto: Rous and Mann, 1928.
Drawings by Jackson with descriptive notes. Introduction by Dr. F. G. Banting.

"Sketching on the Alaska Highway." Canadian Art 1.3 (Feb-Mar 1944): 88-92.
Jackson describes the landscape and military people he meets, and the routine he develops for making sketches while traveling on tours of the Alaska Military Highway through U.S. Public Relations.

"The Origin of the Group of Seven." High Flight. Ed. J. R. McIntosh, F. L. Barrett, C. E. Lewis. Toronto: Copp Clark, 1951, 106-62.

"Recollections on my Seventieth Birthday." Canadian Art 10 (1953): 94-9.

"The Birth of the Group of Seven." Our Sense of Identity: A Book of Canadian Essays. Ed. Malcolm Ross. Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1954, 220-230.

"From Rebel Dauber to Renowned Painter: A Self-Portrait of A.Y. Jackson." by A.Y. Jackson and Leslie F. Hannon. Mayfair 28.9 (Sep 1954): 27-9, 58, 61-4, 67.

"Box-Car Days in Algoma 1919-20."  Canadian Art 14.4 (Summer 1957): 136-141.

A Painter’s Country: The Autobiography of A.Y. Jackson. Toronto: Clarke, Irwin & Co., 1958.

"A Portfolio of Arctic Sketches." Beaver 297 (1967): 7-14.

The Arctic 1927. A.Y. Jackson with introductions by Naomi Jackson Groves & Dr. Frederick Banting. Moonbeam, ON: Penumbra Press, 1982.
The diaries and sketchbook of A. Y. Jackson, who describes a voyage he made to the Canadian arctic. The book is made up of two diaries Jackson kept, one of notes for himself, and a second, more like descriptive travel letters, for friends in Toronto

A.Y. Jackson: Writing about art

Writing about art

"Who Committed the Spring Exhibition."  Montreal Daily Herald, 27 May 1912.
A letter to the Editor

"'Figure Versus Landscape." Written under the pseudonym Smoke Lake. The Rebel magazine 3.3 (Jan 1919): 111-112. Read online from Internet Archive.

"'Art and Craft." Written under the pseudonym Ajax. The Rebel magazine (Feb 1919). 

"Canadian and Foreign Art."  signed as Canadian Artist. Toronto Globe, 31 May 1919. Page 6.
A letter to the editor

"The Vital Necessity of the Fine Arts." Canadian Courier 24 (30 Aug 1919): 7.

"'An Aesthetic Standard." Written under the pseudonym Ajax. The Rebel magazine 4.1 (Oct 1919): 43.  Read online from Internet Archive.

"'Dutch Art in Canada: The Last Chapter." Written under the pseudonym Ajax. The Rebel magazine 4.2 (Nov 1919): 65-6. 

"'The War Memorials: A Challenge." The Lamps (Arts & Letters Club of Toronto) (Dec 1919): 75-8.

"'Things Are Looking Up."  Written under the pseudonym Ajax. The Rebel magazine 4.5 (Feb 1920): 196.

"The Allward Memorial."  Canadian Forum 2.18 (Mar 1922): 559. View text online from Internet Archive.

"A Policy for Art Galleries."  Canadian Forum 2 (June 1922): 660-2. View text online from Internet Archive.

"The Septuagenarian and Art." Montreal Gazette, 8 Dec. 1922.
A letter to editor.

Is the National Gallery a National Reproach?" Written with R.F. Gagen and P.H. Robson. Toronto Mail and Empire, 19 Dec. 1922
A letter to the editor.

"An Artist's Reply to Critic." Ottawa Citizen, 21 Dec. 1922.
A letter to the editor

"The Problem of the Canadian Painter." signed as M.E. Canadian Bookman 5.2 (Feb 1923): 33.

"Canadian Art at Wembley." Signed as Rose Madder. Toronto Daily Star, 23 May 1924.
A letter to the Editor

"Artists in the Mountains." Canadian Forum 5.52 (Jan 1925): 112-113.

"In the Realm of Art."  Canadian Bookman 7.6 (June 1925): 101.

"Early Quebec Wood Carving Now in Toronto."  Canadian Bookman 7.2 (Nov 1925): 186.

"Two Views on Canadian Art." with Wyly Grier. The Empire Club of Canada: Addresses Delivered to the Members During the  Year 1925. Toronto: The Macoomb Press, 1926: 105-13. Read full text of debate online from Empire Club of Canada website.

"Montreal Pictures in Toronto." Montreal Gazette, 22 Feb. 1926, p. 12.
A letter to the editor

"Art in Toronto."  Canadian Forum 6.66 (Mar 1926): 180, 182.

"Those Pictures: More Opinions." Ottawa Journal, 20 Mar 1926.
A letter to the editor

"Blazing Trails in Art." Ottawa Citizen, 17 Mar 1926.

"War Pictures Again." Canadian Bookman 8.11 (Nov 1926): 340.

"Canadian Art Has Received Well-Earned Commendation: Are 'Old Material.'" Toronto Daily Star, 29 Nov. 1926.
A letter to the editor

"As to Certain Myths." Ottawa Morning Journal, 10 Feb. 1927.
A letter to the editor

"Canadian Artist Honored." Signed as Maple Leaf. Toronto Daily Star, 5 May 1927.
A letter to the editor

"Winter Sketching." Supplement to the McGill News 8.3 (June 1927): 29-30.

"Artist-Explorer." Canadian Bookman 9.6 (July 1927): 216.

"Mr. Jackson Objects."  Toronto Star, [?] Sep 1927.
A letter to the editor

"'Group of Seven' Painter Answers Sir John Collier." Toronto Daily Star, 15 Sept. 1927.

"Mr. Russell and Other Artists." Toronto Mail and Empire, 8 Nov. 1927.
A letter to the editor

"Rescuing Our Tottering Totems: Something About a Primitive Art, Revealing the Past History of a Vanishing Race." Maclean's Magazine (15 Dec 1927): 23, 37.

"Up North." Canadian Forum 8.87 (Dec 1927): 478-480.

"The Emigrant's Stone." Canadian Forum 9.100 (Jan 1929): 143.
A letter to the editor

"The Royal Canadian Academy." Canadian Mercury, Feb 1929, p. 54.

"Fifty Immortal Painters." Toronto Mail and Empire, 15 July 1930.
A letter to the editor

"Art Criticism." Toronto Mail and Empire, [?] Jan 1931.
A letter to the editor

"Paintings by Prudence Heward Placed on Exhibition in Montreal." Montreal Daily Star, 27 Apr 1932.

"Wild Art in Mild West." Toronto Mail and Empire, 14 July 1932.
A letter to editor

"What's Wrong with the Academic Painter?" Toronto Mail and Empire, 16 Dec. 1932.
 letter to editor

"Modern Art No Menace." Saturday Night 48.6 (17 Dec 1932): 3.

"More Art Experts." Toronto Mail and Empire, 2 Jan. 1933.
A letter to editor

"Why Always the Group of Seven?" Toronto Mail and Empire, 6 Feb. 1933.
A letter to editor

"What are Finns?" Signed as A.Y. Toronto News,13 Sep 1941.
A letter to the editor

"Canada at War." Maritime Art 2.3 (Feb-Mar 1942): 75-6.

"Art and War." Toronto News, 3 Oct 1942.

"War Pictures." Toronto News, 10 Oct 1942.

"Watercolours." Toronto News, 23 Jan 1943.

"Pictures for Soldiers." Toronto News, 3 Apr 1943. 

"Marginal Art." Toronto News, 10 Apr 1943.

"Artist's Hint to Politicians." Toronto News, 24 July 1943.

"Plea for Hidden Talent." Toronto News, 09 Oct 1943.

"Dr. MacCallum: Loyal Friend of Art." Saturday Night 59.14 (11 Dec 1943): 19.

How to Get Started Sketching with Oil Paints for Pleasure. [Toronto]: Canadian Y:Y.M.C.A. War Services in co-operation with Canadian Legion Educational Services, [194-?].
A "Recreational-educational How-to-get-started Booklets for members of the Canadian Armed Forces."

"Soldiers Art on Exhibition." Toronto News, 1 Apr 1944.

"Century of Art." Toronto News, 10 June 1944.

"Oils on the Water."
Toronto News, 21 Oct 1944.

"Art, the Waif." Toronto News, 21 Dec 1944.

"Portrait of an Artist." Toronto News, 27 Jan 1945.

"Pictures & Pictures." Toronto News, 24 Feb 1945.

"Art Goes to the Armed Forces." The Studio 129.625 (April 1945): 120.

"On Buying Pictures." Toronto News, 5 July 1945.

"Art for All." Toronto News, 21 July 1945.

"School in the Rockies." Toronto News, 29 Sep 1945.

"Banff School of Fine Arts." Canadian Art 3.4 (July 1946). Read article online at CCCA.

"A Record of Total War." Canadian Art 3.4 (July 1946): 150-5.  Read article online at CCCA.

"A War Memorial Gallery." Ottawa Citizen, 23 July 1946.

"Foreword" by Jackson in Canadian Group of Painters, 1947-1948: [Catalogue of an Exhibition Organized by the Art Gallery of Toronto and the Art Association, Montreal]. Toronto: Canadian Group of Painters; Art Association of Montreal; Art Gallery of Toronto, 1947.

"Developments in Canadian Art - I." Canada's Weekly, 132.3430 (31 Dec 1948): 381-2, 392.

"Developments in Canadian Art - II." Canada's Weekly, 132.3431 (7 Jan 1949): 413-414.

"The Development of Canadian Art." Royal Society of Arts Journal 97.4786 (Jan 1949): 129-43.

"The Origin of the Group of Seven." High Flight. Ed. J. R. McIntosh, F. L. Barrett, C. E. Lewis. Toronto: Copp Clark, 1951, 106-62.

"Introduction." Paintings and Drawings from the Collection of J.S. McLean. Ottawa: The National Gallery of Canada, 1952.

"The Birth of the Group of Seven." Our Sense of Identity: A Book of Canadian Essays. Ed. Malcolm Ross. Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1954, 220-230.

"Canadian Art -- Whither?" Sun Life Review, 8.3 (July 1956): 5-8, 19.

"Foreword." The Georgian Bay by Percy J. Robinson. Toronto: Privately printed, 1966, pp. 3.

 

Writing about artists

"J.E.H. MacDonald." Canadian Forum 13.148 (Jan 1933): 136-8.

Banting as an Artist. Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1943.

"Emily Carr, 1871-1945." Toronto News, 20 Mar 1945.

"Sarah Robertson, 1891-1948." Canadian Art 6.3 (Spring 1949): 125-6.

"Arthur Lismer: His Contribution to Canadian Art." Canadian Art 7.3 (Spring 1950): 89-90.

"William J. Woods, 1877-1954." Canadian Art 11.3 (Spring 1954): 115.

"Arthur Lismer." Educational Record of the Province of Quebec 71 no.1 (Jan-Mar1955): 11-7.

"Foreword" by Jackson in Frederick Simpson Coburn, R.C.A.  By Gerald Stevens. Toronto: Ryerson Press, 1958, pp. v-vii.

"R.S. Hewton, R.C.A." An introduction by Jackson. Exhibition Randolph S. Hewton, R.C.A. 1888-1960. Montreal: Walter Klinkhoff Gallery, 1961.

"Memories of a Fellow Artist, Frederick Grant Banting." The Canadian Medical Association Journal 92 (15 May 1965): 1077-1083. Read online via National Library of Medicine.

"Preface" by Jackson in James Wilson Morrice. By Kathleen Daly Pepper. Toronto ; Vancouver: Clarke, Irwin, 1966.

"Foreword" by Jackson in Tom Thomson: The Story of a Man Who Looked for Beauty and for Truth in the Wilderness. By Blodwen Davies. Vancouver: Mitchell Press, 1967, pp. 1-6.

 

Catalogue essays

"Foreword" by Jackson. Catalogue of an Exhibition of Paintings by the Late Tom Thomson, March 1 to March 21, 1919. Montreal: The Arts Club, 1919.

"Foreword" by Jackson. Canadian Group of Painters, 1947-1948: [Catalogue of an Exhibition Organized by the Art Gallery of Toronto and the Art Association, Montreal]. Toronto: Canadian Group of Painters; Art Association of Montreal; Art Gallery of Toronto, 1947.

"Lawren Harris: A Biographical Sketch." A catalogue essay by Jackson in Lawren Harris: Paintings 1910-1948. Toronto: Art Gallery of Toronto, 1948, pp. 6-12.

"Prudence Heward (Introduction)."  Exhibition catalogue introduction in Prudence Heward, 1896-1947: Memorial Exhibition. Ottawa: The National Gallery of Canada, 1948, pp. 7-10.

"Introduction." Exhibition catalogue introduction in Sarah Robertson, 1891-1948: Memorial Exhibition. Ottawa: the National Gallery of Canada, 1951.

"Introduction." Paintings and Drawings from the Collection of J.S. McLean. Ottawa: The National Gallery of Canada, 1952.

"The War Records." F.H. Varley: Paintings, 1915-1954. Toronto: Art Gallery of Toronto, 1954, pp.5-6.
A catalogue essay regarding Frederick Horsman Varley

Maurice Cullen, 1866-1934: Contains brief critical comments by Jackson in exhibition catalogue. Hamilton, ON: Art Gallery of Hamilton, 1956.

"R.S. Hewton, R.C.A." An introduction by Jackson. Exhibition Randolph S. Hewton, R.C.A. 1888-1960. Montreal: Walter Klinkhoff Gallery, 1961.

A.Y. Jackson: Writing about war

"'A Volunteer." Written under the pseudonym Ajax. The Rebel magazine 3.6 (Apr 1919). Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1919. Read online from Internet Archive.

"Canada at War." Maritime Art 2.3 (Feb-Mar 1942): 75-6.

"Light on Enlistments." Signed as A.Y. Toronto News, 28 Feb 1942.
A letter to the editor

"Art and War." Toronto News, 3 Oct 1942.

"War Pictures." Toronto News, 10 Oct 1942.

"Pictures for Soldiers." Toronto News, 3 Apr 1943. 

"Soldiers Art on Exhibition." Toronto News, 1 Apr 1944.

"Art Goes to the Armed Forces." The Studio 129.625 (April 1945): 120.

"A Record of Total War." Canadian Art 3.4 (July 1946): 150-5. Read article online at CCCA.

"A War Memorial Gallery." Ottawa Citizen, 23 July 1946.

"Reminiscences of Army Life, 1914-1918." Canadian Art 11.1 (Autumn 1953): 6-10.

"A War Artist Looks Back." Ottawa Citizen, 31 Oct 1953.

A.Y. Jackson's speech at Royal York Hotel, Toronto, April 20, 1965. Hear part of Jackson's speech as he recalls his assignments as a war painter (CBC Digital Archives)

A.Y. Jackson: Travel Writing

"Artists in the Mountains." Canadian Forum 5.52 (Jan 1925): 112-113.

"There is Still Snow in Quebec." with pen drawing Early Spring - Laurentians. The Tangent: An Annual 1929. Toronto: Ontario College of Art Students' Club, 1929. Read online via Internet Archive.

"Adventure in Art." Canadian Forum 8.86 (Nov 1927): 424.
About a trip to the Arctic

"Sketching on the Alaska Highway." Canadian Art 1.3 (Feb-Mar 1944): 88-92.
Jackson describes the landscape and military people he meets, and the routine he develops for making sketches while traveling on tours of the Alaska Military Highway through U.S. Public Relations

The Arctic 1927. A.Y. Jackson with introductions by Naomi Jackson Groves & Dr. Frederick Banting. Moonbeam, ON: Penumbra Press, 1982.
Diaries and sketchbook of A. Y. Jackson who describes a voyage he made to the Canadian arctic. The book is made up of two diaries Jackson kept, one of notes for himself, and a second, more like descriptive travel letters, for friends in Toronto

Two Jacksons Abroad, 1936. By Naomi Jackson Groves and A.Y. Jackson. Manotick, ON: Penumbra Press, 2000.
Mostly Dr. Naomi Jackson Groves' diaries, but includes brief letters and diary of A. Y. Jackson as well

A.Y. Jackson: Letters

Letters (correspondence)

Jackson's correspondence can be found in the following monographs:

The Group of Seven: Art for a Nation. By Charles C. Hill. Ottawa: National Gallery of Canada, 1995.
Includes correspondence between Jackson & other Group of Seven members, eg. A.Y. Jackson, Shoreham, England to J.E.H. MacDonald, Toronto, August 4, 1917.

Anne Savage: The Story of a Canadian Painter. By Anne McDougall. Montreal: Harvest House, 1977.
Includes correspondence between Jackson & Savage

A.Y.'s Canada.Drawings by A.Y. Jackson with text by Naomi Jackson Groves. Toronto: Clarke, Irwin & Co., 1968.
Includes selection of Jackson's letters to Naomi (his niece) and others, as noted by Naomi in the book

Works By A.Y. Jackson from the 1930s. By Naomi Jackson Groves. Ottawa, ON: Carleton University Press, 1990.
Includes quotes from Jackson's letters to various people

 

Letters to the Editor

"Who Committed the Spring Exhibition (letter to the editor)."  Montreal Daily Herald, 27 May 1912.

"Canadian and Foreign Art (letter to the editor)."  signed as Canadian Artist. Toronto Globe, 31 May 1919, p. 6.

"Light on Enlistments (letter to the editor)." Toronto News, 28 Feb 1942.

"The Septuagenarian and Art (letter to the editor)." Montreal Gazette, 8 Dec. 1922.

"Is the National Gallery a National Reproach? (letter to the editor)" Written with R.F. Gagen and P.H. Robson. Toronto Mail and Empire, 19 Dec 1922.

"An Artist's Reply to Critic (letter to the editor)." Ottawa Citizen, 21 Dec 1922.

"Canadian Art at Wembley (letter to the editor)." Signed as Rose Madder. Toronto Daily Star, 23 May 1924.

"Montreal Pictures in Toronto (letter to the editor)." Montreal Gazette, 22 Feb 1926, p. 12.

"Those Pictures: More Opinions (letter to the editor)." Ottawa Journal, 20 Mar 1926.

"Canadian Art Has Received Well-Earned Commendation: Are 'Old Material' (letter to the editor)." Toronto Daily Star, 29 Nov 1926.

"As to Certain Myths (letter to the editor)." Ottawa Morning Journal, 10 Feb 1927.

"Canadian Artist Honored (letter to the editor)." Signed Maple Leaf. Toronto Daily Star, 5 May 1927.

"Mr. Jackson Objects (letter to the editor)."  Toronto Star, [?] Sep 1927.

"Mr. Russell and Other Artists (letter to the editor)." Toronto Mail and Empire, 8 Nov 1927.

"Timid Souls! (letter to the editor)." Gossip, Toronto, 5 Mar 1928.

"The Emigrant's Stone (letter to the editor)." Canadian Forum 9.100 (Jan 1929): 143.

"Fifty Immortal Painters (letter to the editor)." Toronto Mail and Empire, 15 July 1930.

"Art Criticism (letter to the editor)." Toronto Mail and Empire, [?] Jan 1931.

"Wild Art in Mild West (letter to the editor)." Toronto Mail and Empire, 14 July 1932.

"What's Wrong with the Academic Painter? (letter to the editor)." Toronto Mail and Empire, 16 Dec 1932.

"More Art Experts (letter to the editor)." Toronto Mail and Empire, 2 Jan 1933.

"Why Always the Group of Seven? (letter to the editor)." Toronto Mail and Empire, 6 Feb 1933.

"What are Finns? (letter to the editor)." Signed as A. Y. Toronto News,13 Sep 1941.

"Try, Try Again (letter to the editor)." Signed as A.J. Toronto News, 5 Sep 1942.

"Survival (letter to the editor)." Signed as A.J. Toronto News, 26 Sep 1942.

"Choose Your Immigrant (letter to the editor)." Signed as Another Veteran. Toronto News, 18 Dec 1943.

 

Archival Letters

While our database is currently indexing only published materials, Jackson was a prolific letter writer and his long, descriptive letters found in archives contain much information regarding his contemporaries' and his own activities, as well as give insight into Jackson's personal reflections on artistic events of the day. Therefore, in addition to the monographs listed above in which Jackson's letters can be found, the following summary compiled by Dennis Reid in Alberta Rhythm: The Later Work of A.Y. Jackson with some additional information regarding Jackson's letters which are found in archives is included below.

  • Archives of the Nat'l Gallery of Canada have correspondence between Jackson & various officers (Eric Brown, H.O. McCurry, Dr. James MacCallum, Sarah Robertson, Prudence Heward & others)
  • Montreal Museum of Fine Arts has several letters about exhibitions of Jackson's work & correspondence with Arthur Lismer
  • The Reference Library of the Art Gallery of Ontario has correspondence from Martin Baldwin, Albert Laberge, Charles McFaddin, William Colgate & chronologies of activities & lists of paintings compiled by Jackson
  • The Social and Cultural Archives and Manuscript Division of the Public Archives of Canada has numerous collections that contain materials pertaining to Jackson including personal papers of Arthur Copeland, Dorothy Dyde, Lawren & Bess Harris, C.A.G. Matthews, Charles Comfort, J.E.H. and Thoreau MacDonald Collections, B.T. Richardson, and the minute books of the Royal Canadian Academy (for information about Jackson's involvement with the organization)
  • Federal Archives' Northern Affairs Programme has material related to Jackson's activities between 1927 and 1951.
  • Federal Archives' Department of  Militia and Defence has material relating to Jackson as a Canadian War Artist
  • Department of National Defence has materials related to Canadian War Memorials
  • Canadiana Collection of the North York Public Library's Newton MacTavish papers & Archives of the Arts and Letters Club in Toronto for Jackson correspondence
  • McMichael Canadian Collection at Kleinburg for original typescripts of articles & speeches by Jackson, his own collection of annotated exhibition catalogues, and correspondence between Jackson and J.E.H. MacDonald, Norma McClellan, Arthur Jackson, Prudence Heward, Robert & Signe McMichael, and letters to Arthur Lismer 1930s-1940s in which Jackson dicsusses events like travels to NWT & Alberta
  • McCord Museum of Canadian History, P116 Clarence Gagnon Fonds holds correspondence between Jackson and Clarence A. Gagnon
  • Anne Savage fonds, Concordia University holds correspondence between Jackson and Anne Savage 

A.Y. Jackson: Poetry

Untitled poem about camping at Danville, 1906. Poem can be found in Young A.Y. Jackson: Lindsay A. Evans' Memories 1902-6. Ed. Naomi Groves Jackson. Ottawa: EDAHL Productions, c1982.