Skip to main content

Artists' Books at OCAD University Library: Overview of OCAD Bookworks

What are artists' books?

Artists' books are works of art typically created in the form of a book or a book-like object. They are often published in small editions or as one-of-a-kind items.

Find artists' books

The easiest way to locate artists' books is to

  1. search the library catalogue
  2. choose the Browse menu,
  3. use the drop-down menu to select "Call Number"
  4. enter "BWK" in the search box.

Check out the "Artists' Books at OCAD" tab for more detailed information about locating artists' books in the collection.

About the Artists' Books collection at OCAD

The OCAD University library Artists' Book collection contains over 150 artists' bookworks and is part of the library's Special Collections. Artists' books in the collection range from the late 20th to early 21st-century and include traditional letterpress printed books, conceptual bookworks, sculptural and visual works, and forms such as scrolls, fold-outs, and loose items contained in a box. The artists' book collection serves as a teaching collection in support of OCAD University's Printmaking program. Artists' books are housed in the Dorothy H. Hoover Library and are available upon request, they do not circulate outside of the library.

We welcome recommendations for new titles to add to the collection.

Diana Myers' Artists' Bookwork Collection

The Diana Myers Award is awarded yearly to an outstanding artist book produced by an OCAD student in the Printmaking program. The Diana Myers Award has been on hiatus since 2013 but will be reinstated for the 2016/17 academic year. Stay tuned for more info coming soon. To see past winners check out the artists' book display in the library.