Last Updated: Feb 20, 2013
URL: http://ocad.libguides.com/art
Print Guide
Welcome to the Faculty of Art subject guides!
Use the tabs above to explore library research tools that are best suited for your discipline. Guides offer recommendations for database searches, useful encylopedias, new books on a topic, and the most appropriate databases for scholarly journals.
Have any questions or suggestions to make this page better? Contact Marta Chudolinska at mchudolinska@ocad.ca
For best results
- try using one or more terms for the subject of interest
- add geographic area (Canada, Australia, etc.) if needed
- add subject (artists, culture, appropriation, etc.)
No Results?
- use fewer search terms
- broaden subject terms
- Scholarly Articles
What are peer-review or scholarly articles? How can I find them? How can I tell the difference betweeen scholarly and non-scholarly sources?
- Guide to Databases
What is a database? How do I use one to find the research I need? What is the difference between all these databases?
- Guide to Citations
What are citations? How do I properly create them? Why should I use citations?
- Copyright
What are the copyright restrictions on OCAD U Library materials?
For research help:
Call the Library Reference desk during library operating hours 416-977-6000 ext. 334
-or-
Email Marta Chudolinska, mchudolinska@ocadu.ca (response will be sent within 24 hours on weekdays).
Oh, Canada : contemporary art from north North America - Denise Markonish; Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art Staff (Contribution by)Call Number: N6545 O4
ISBN: 9780262018357
Publication Date: 2012-07-20
This book is an accompaniment to the recent Oh, Canada exhibition at MASS MoCA. Organized by geographic region, each section includes a text on the art of the region, interviews between artists (emerging and established), and examples of their work. Oh, Canada also includes a detailed exploration of today's Canadian art scene by the editor and whimsical shorter pieces in a variety of forms (travelogues, poems, even fiction) by other writers, among them Douglas Coupland and Jane Urquhart.
Color in Art - Stefano ZuffiCall Number: N7432.7 Z83
ISBN: 9781419701115
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Every color has many aspects, many variations, and many meanings. Red, for instance, can mean passion, or suffering, or anger. How are these aspects represented in works of art from Titian and Bosch to Matisse and Warhol? This fascinating book focuses on the most important colors in art--red, blue, yellow, black, white, green, and gold--and looks at them through some 200 beautifully reproduced works.
Groundwaters: A century of art by self-taught and outsider artists - Charles RussellCall Number: N7432.5 A78 R8
ISBN: 9783791344904
Publication Date: 2011-10-26
Groundwaters brings together works by twelve of the most influential self-taught artists to emerge during the past century. This book presents a narrative of the history of outsider art, clarifies predominant theoretical issues, and draws comparisons with the modernist tradition.
The Routledge Companion to Research in the Arts - Michael Biggs and Henrik Karlsson (eds.)Call Number: N345 R67 2011
ISBN: 9780415581691
Publication Date: 2011
The Routledge Companion to Research in the Arts is a major collection of new writings on research in the creative and performing arts by leading authorities from around the world. It provides theoretical and practical approaches to identifying, structuring and resolving some of the key issues in the debate about the nature of research in the arts.
A General Theory of Visual Culture - Whitney DavisCall Number: N72 S6 D27
ISBN: 9780691147659
Publication Date: 2011
A General Theory of Visual Culture provides penetrating new definitions of form, style, and iconography, and draws important and sometimes surprising conclusions. The book uses examples from a variety of cultural traditions, from prehistory to the twentieth century, to support a theory designed to apply to all human traditions of making artifacts and pictures--that is, to visual culture as a worldwide phenomenon.
Artists in their Studios: Where Art is Born - Robert AmosISBN: 9781894898584
Publication Date: 2007
Artist Robert Amos gives readers a fascinating insider’s tour of studios on Vancouver Island and the Gulf Islands where some of Canada’s best-known artists create works. Spanning more than 15 years of interviews and photographs, Amos has created panoramic collages of these artists' creative spaces, and even more revealing images with his words.
From head to hand: art and the manual - David Levi StraussISBN: 9780195391220
Publication Date: 2010
How does a vision get from the head to the hand, and out into the world? In this concise, pithy study, art critic David Levi Strauss makes an argument for the continued relevance of art made by hand. The author's core concern is an ongoing inquiry into the relation of art-making to the present cultural and political ethos. Strauss' resistance to (intellectual and aesthetic) fashion makes for a rewarding exchange between aesthetic theory, art historical knowledge, and independent thought.
Contemporary Art : A Very Short Introduction - Julian StallabrassISBN: 9780192806468
Publication Date: 2006
Contemporary art is supposed to be a realm of freedom where artists shock, break taboos, flout generally received ideas, and switch between confronting viewers with works of great emotional profundity and jaw-dropping triviality. But away from shock tactics in the gallery, there are many unanswered questions. Who is really running the art world? What effect has America's growing political and cultural dominance had on art?
- Art Full Text
Covers fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture, and much more. Recently expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian, and non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
- Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
Some full text newspaper, magazine, academic journal articles from Canadian and international publications.
- Academic Search Premier
Some full text articles from newspapers, magazines, academic journals. An ideal starting point for locating information in all subject areas.
- JSTOR Advanced Search
Full text articles from academic journals in all subjects and time periods.
Getting started? Become an instant expert by using an academic encyclopedia. Unlike Wikipedia, these often can be cited in your research papers!
- Oxford Art Online
Full text articles, images from Grove Dictionary of Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and other art and design reference resources.
- Credo Reference
Full text articles from over 500 academic encyclopedias, guides, handbooks. Use the concept map for a visual mind-mapping tool.
- Akimbo
Up-to-date and vital information about exhibitions, calls for submissions, publications, performances, screenings, lecture series, and jobs related to visual culture in Canada.
- CARFAC
CARFAC is a non-profit corporation that works to promote the visual arts in Canada, to promote a socio-economic climate that is conducive to the production of visual arts in Canada, and to conduct research and engage in public education for these purposes.
- CARFAC Ontario
CARFAC Ontario is a professional visual and media artists association that develops policies, publications and services that assist artists, galleries, curators, art patrons, and other stakeholders in creating an economic climate that benefits all visual artists.